Why should I be joyful on Good Friday?

faith-hope-and-love-clouded-sky-with-some-light.png

When I woke up outside our bedroom window I saw a blue sky

I asked our Father, “Why isn’t the sky gray on Good Friday?”

This to my heart He did say:

“Kevin, in this world of terror and fear

I feel it’s important to say why My Son came here

His mission was to show My love for humanity

To bring a message of acceptance to all He did see

All in this world are loved equally

 

The Christian is no better than the atheist

No kinder than those who say I don’t exist

You see, I put a message of love in all

Some listen to it

Some resist that call

Some say My Son was only a teacher

Others say He was only a prophet

Others say He was nothing more than a mere man

That all the miracles He did perform are nothing more than stories

Symbolic
Dramatic
Showing the message of forgiveness we all need to hear

Comforting people in their fear

 

Each must make their own choice

That is their decision

Faith is believing in that which you don’t see

It’s trusting that I wouldn’t lie to all humanity

 

For those who have eyes to see

Good Friday is about far more than the suffering of My Son

It’s when the Christ of all showed My eternal glory

It’s a sad yet joyful salvation story

I felt the pain of My Son before, during and after Calvary

I gave My one and only Son that new life in all could be begun

 

Please don’t think I didn’t cry when I allowed My Son to die

 

Please don’t feel only gloom for Me and Christ on Good Friday

 

This of you I would ask

In My message of mercy you would bask

The joy of Good Friday is grace is free

My grace line is open 24 hours a day for all, you see

I even accept your long distance call

My love is for one and all

Not one of you will be turned away

That’s the joy of Good Friday

 

I know

Looking at the cross is tough

It can make you feel awfully rough

Could I ask you to think of it also this way?

It’s your jubilee day

An opportunity for your captive spirit to be set free

To feel a beautiful love for all suffering humanity

To open your heart to the physically and developmentally disabled

A greater love for them would be enabled

To pour out My love for the prostitute and the destitute

The rich and the poor

To those who can’t find their way to My open door

To not reject those who have an addiction

To share with all My love prescription

To give those who have no place to live

A place to call their own

A caring voice from a homeless worker’s telephone

 

To tell the ill about a love darkness cannot kill

Those who I have made weak in body are strong

Because they come to Me often

They draw on My strength

They have so little of their own

They know on Good Friday My Son took upon Himself

The sins of all

That they might hear My call

Be cleansed of all their iniquity

Follow My purpose for their life

Show people the way to Me

That love would beat in their souls eternally

 

Love is the message of Good Friday

Love is the message a Taliban bullet shot at Malala Yousafzai

could not kill

A bullet cannot kill an idea

A world where NO ONE would be denied health care

We would in caring communities for others be there

We would free many from their heavy yoke of poverty

New happiness in their lives they would see

A dream that everyone would have a quality education

A caring hand up that leads to hope

Jobs that feed the starving

Because a joyful purpose they would be carving

A hope for a more beautiful world

Communities that for all people care

Communities that reach out to everyone there

 

When life has got you down

Hope you cannot see

Come back to this message of love from Me

That comes from Calvary

 

Yes, on Good Friday do take time to cry

It’s a sad event how life from My Son was spent

Please also take time to feel great joy

That love’s message you would employ

 

Love’s story continues from Good Friday to today

It can be there in everything you do, think or say

When you feel that love beat in your heart

That’s My message to all you can impart

 

Kevin, thanks for taking time to listen to Me

To hear about My love that’s always free

To feel that love from now into eternity.”

Kevin and Karen Osborne are psychotherapists and pastoral counsellors.  Kevin is studying to become a chaplain and professor of Psychology specializing in Pastoral Theology. Karen enjoys doing cross-stitch while I like writing and singing songs. Karen makes me laugh when she sings the kitty bed-time song saying, “It’s that time. It’s the bestest kitty time of the day!” Kevin enjoys teasing the kitties and making them do kitty dances with music. Their kitty, Catherine, loves it when kitty daddeh sings All Things Bright and Beautiful. Kevin likes doing impressions. He tells children’s stories and helps others with their problems using his hand puppet, Dr. Teddy, who is a therapy bear. He is a partner with us in our counselling practice.We are available to assist with worship and preaching to give busy pastors and ministers a much-needed break. We offer in-office, and phone counselling to anyone in the world.

Co-author on Mind’s Seat, a Christian inspirational blog

http://www.youcanhopeagaincounselling.com/

Leave a Reply

