Love Call from Bethlehem

christ-in-manger-aetist-blessed-virgin-mary

Dear reader:

This reflection is based upon life experience and real situations that happen in the lives of others.

I’m in a hurry today

So many gifts to buy

Lineups in the store to face

Deadlines to meet at work

Have to deal with my teenage daughter addicted to drugs

An eight year-old special needs son, for whom I never have enough time

My wife is in burnout

Both of us are juggling a career and family

She never has enough time for me

She tells me I never have enough time for her

When can we have time to breathe?

To stop this hectic pace of our lives

Have we focused too much on doing and not enough on being?

Father, do You hear us?

Where are You?

We have lost our way

We don’t know if we can go on

Father, show us the way back to You

Show us how we can get our lives back

our family back

Father, we hear You

You want us to spend more time alone with You

To feed on Your Holy Word

Flood our souls with music that quietens us

Be willing to let go of this stressful pace of our lives

You call us to spend more time with our children

To never stop loving our daughter

Be willing to fight for her recovery

Tell her in love she needs to go into treatment for her drug addiction

You say to my heart I need to love my wife more

Pray You would put Your love in my heart for her

You call to my heart to embrace my son more

Encourage him that through his learning challenges You’re calling him to help others

We pour out our hearts to You

You let our tears come

Then, You remind us of this truth:

Those who are lost can be found.

They only need to say,

Lord, here I am with all my sin.

Let me from the darkness come in.

Warm my longing spirit with Your love’s flame,

remembering Your Son,

who died that a world in darkness would see

Christ’s light that shines eternally.”

Father, thank you for loving me and my family

For teaching us about love from Bethlehem freely given

Love that was born in a manger to give us life

Love that grew up to give all it could

dying for a sinful world on Calvary’s cross

Love that heals us

Love that sees us

Love that hears us

Love that knows us

Love that conquers hate in us and others

Love that gives hope

Love that releases Your love to all we see

Kevin and Karen Osborne are Christian pastoral counsellors and psychotherapists. Kevin is studying to become a chaplain and professor of Psychology specializing in Pastoral Theology. We have started You Can Hope Again Counselling. Karen enjoys doing cross-stitch while I like writing and singing songs. Karen makes me laugh when she sings the kitty bed-time song saying, “It’s that time. It’s the bestest kitty time of the day!” Kevin enjoys teasing the kitties and making them do kitty dances with music. Their kitty, Catherine, loves it when kitty daddeh sings All Things Bright and Beautiful. Kevin likes doing impressions. He tells children’s stories and helps others with their problems using his hand puppet, Dr. Teddy, who is a therapy bear. He is a partner with us in our counselling practice.We are available to assist with worship and preaching to give busy pastors and ministers a much-needed break. We offer in-office, and phone counselling to anyone in the world.

http://www.youcanhopeagaincounselling.com/

Co-author on Mind’s Seat, a Christian inspirational blog

Leave a Reply

