Counting Our Blessings

mouse-counting-his-blessings

I got up this morning, made a coffee, and had my breakfast

As I did this, I lifted up this prayer for those who often don’t even have one meal many days

I asked our Father that it would to your heart appeal

There are millions dying a slow, agonizing death from malnutrition

It’s not just in developing countries there is this deplorable condition

There are millions in rich countries who don’t have enough food to eat

For those with chronic and rare medical conditions it becomes a choice between eating well or doing without critical medications they need to stay alive, and have quality of life

I know this personally because Karen and I struggle with this reality every month

What medications can I have and what ones will I need to do without

We have no clients yet for our counseling practice

We’re in the process of spending several hours each day developing our counselling ministry

Networking

Mailing out introductory letters to pastors, doctors, psychiatrists, community leaders

Arranging meetings with them

Hearing people’s problems out in the community

Caring friends can only do so much

Without their support, I would have died many years ago from an extremely rare auto immune disease

It’s called mastocytosis

Like lupus it’s the disease of a thousand faces

Too many mast (immune and systemic) cells

Karen says to people it’s allergy on steroids

I tell others it’s a neighbourhood block party out of control

I have been intubated nine times for allergic reactions

Many times close to death

In coma as a missionary in South Korea

A disease that attacks my energy, mobility, digestion, immune system
Far too many symptoms to list here

But I’m still fighting, not giving up

Finally understanding my calling

To be a psychotherapist
Chaplain

Professor of Psychology and Pastoral Theology

Pastor to the pastors

Singer/songwriter

Missionary

 

You need to know what I share comes from one who experiences struggles every day

I’m getting much better thanks to God and the help of His people

Thanking God every day for His love and support of my gorgeous wife, Karen

My God-given bride

My shield mate

Family
Friends

Our pastor

Colleagues

The people of Matheson

But this is the point I want to make

We should not from anyone quality of life take

There needs to be a concerted effort by government and community

One day everyone a realistic hope would see

No one would be left behind in our society

No one would be abandoned who suffers from any mental illness, any anxiety

We would learn to set politics aside

From the homeless we would not our compassion hide

We would stop saying poverty will be with us always, so why bother?

But I ask you these questions to ponder

Would you want anyone abandoning you when you need a helping hand?

Wouldn’t you hope that through your struggle others with you would stand?

You would see community in action

 

Let’s all count our blessings

Share what we have

Let it be to others a healing salve

Kevin and Karen Osborne are Christian pastoral counsellors and psychotherapists. Kevin is studying to become a psychologist and professor of Psychology. He feels called to also be a chaplain. We have started You Can Hope Again Counselling. Karen enjoys doing cross-stitch while I like writing and singing songs. Karen makes me laugh when she sings the kitty bed-time song saying, “It’s that time. It’s the bestest kitty time of the day!” Kevin enjoys teasing the kitties and making them do kitty dances with music. Their kitty, Catherine, loves it when kitty daddeh sings All Things Bright and BeautifulKevin likes doing impressions.  He tells children’s stories and helps others with their problems using his hand puppet, Dr. Teddy, who is a therapy bear.  He is a partner with us in our counselling practice.We are available to assist with worship and preaching to give busy pastors and ministers a much-needed break. Please visit our counselling website, where you will also find our blogs. We offer in-office, and phone counselling to anyone in the world.

http://www.youcanhopeagaincounselling.com/

Leave a Reply

