Morning Psalm

Psalm 5 v 3 in the morning You hear my voice

Dearly beloved of God: My prayer is this poem will help others in their inner healing journey.

Father, this is my morning psalm to You

The God who knows me true

You know all the things I’ve been and am going through

The past shrouded with abuse

How my abusers treated me as a failure

The times I thought I was of no use

How I was treated by some as a second class person

Because of my physical and developmental challenges

Because unlike others I can’t walk that well

Stutter sometimes when I talk

Can’t always find the right word to say

Delays in getting my thoughts out

Judged as lacking faith because I’m not totally physically healed

The jeers

The sneers

The heartache

The sorrow

The times I couldn’t see a brighter tomorrow

What those who judge me fail to see is this

How You are making my mind sharper

Improving my health

Changing me more into the person You want me to be

You and the counsellors of my wounded heart

They are helping me to see the truth of who I really am

Beautiful

Caring

Creative

Articulate

Giving

Witty

Strong within

Sensitive

Intelligent

A listener

I lift my morning psalm to You

I know You’ll always see me through

The good times and the bad

Times I am happy

Times I am sad

Let me always lift this morning psalm to You

I thank You, Lord, for loving me

For calling me to forgive those who hurt me

That the path of Your love I would more fully see

Keep changing me

Calling me to be more loving

Discovering who yet I can be

As I put my trust in Thee

Kevin and Karen Osborne are Christian pastoral counsellors and psychotherapists. We are starting You Can Hope Again Counselling at the end of June. Karen enjoys doing cross-stitch while I like writing and singing songs. Karen makes me laugh when she sings the kitty bed-time song saying, “It’s that time. It’s the bestest kitty time of the day!” Kevin enjoys teasing the kitties and making them do kitty dances with music. Their kitty, Catherine, loves it when kitty daddeh sings All Creatures Great and SmallKevin likes doing impressions.  He tells children’s stories using his hand puppet, Dr. Teddy. 

Our greatest calling is to be servants of our Lord wherever He calls us to go.

http://marmarthunder.wordpress.com/

2 responses to “Morning Psalm

  1. Beautiful Kevin! Thank you for sharing it with us this morning! I praise God that though you nor I heard it at home growing up that we are able to hear it today!

    God is so amazing when He either sticks people in our lives today that tell us We are valued or if He teaches us Himself about our value or If He uses any other means He gets into those areas and reaches deeply into our wounds and puts oil balm on them. I praise Him for that today!

    I love hearing Father call me HIS beautiful daughter and how He sings and dances over me with delight.

    Thank you Kevin for hearing Father in your life today

    • My spirit is always uplifted by how you hear our Father so well.

      Thanks be to God our past wounds can be healed in time in God’s way. While we never forget the abuse we experienced, with God’s help the past doesn’t need to rule our life. The abuser(s) inflict so much damage. When the abused share their pain they are sadly often emotionally shut down and told to get over it and move on. What an opportunity to share the heart of God’s love in us is missed! We need as a society to bring this critical issue more into the light of day. If we are to truly love as Christ calls us to, we will take the needed time to listen, really listen to their inner suffering. An infected wound can’t heal until it is treated. The abused won’t heal within if their inner pain is not addressed. Father, thank you for the healers who listen to the suffering of others. Amen.

      Keep delighting in Father as He sings and dances over you.

Leave a Reply

