The Blueberry Pie Caper

blueberry pie

I rarely get in trouble as a child. If something happened when Mom was away, she would say to my sisters and brother when she returned, “You need to be an example to Kevin.” I was such an angelic child:) Whenever I say this with my sister or wife present they start laughing uproariously. Then, Valerie talks about the kind of trouble I start like the blueberry pie caper.

I’m seven. My sister, Valerie, gets me angry about something she asks me to do. She comes out the front door of our home. It is so hot, but there is a cool breeze. I’m sitting on one of the front door steps. I say, “Sis, sit down beside me and take a break.” Without looking she sits down on a freshly baked blueberry pie my Mom leaves outside to cool. Mom is taking it to a pie social. There is pie all over her newest and coolest white denim pedal pushers. It’s such a huge sacrifice to make. Blueberry pie is my favorite pie.

The execution of my plan comes off much better than my wildest expectations. Mom comes out of our home when Valerie cries out to Mom saying, “It’s all Kevin’s fault! He made me sit on the blueberry pie!” Mom says, “Valerie, you should have watched what you were doing.”

Being the youngest does have its advantages.

Kevin Osborne is training to become a minister, psychotherapist and chaplain through St. James the Elder Seminary in Jacksonville, Florida. He and his wife, Karen, plan to open a counselling practice. Karen is taking graduate divinity studies at Trinity College in the University of Toronto. Kevin is planning on taking additional graduate studies there. He is a member of The Word Guild, a Christian writer’s group in Canada.

Our greatest calling is to be servants of our Lord wherever He calls us to go.

http://marmarthunder.wordpress.com/

3 responses to “The Blueberry Pie Caper

Leave a Reply

