How Beautiful You Are

you are beautiful

Dear reader: I am offering this piece to be used in the inner healing of others. Please pass this gift along to those who have had their worth as individuals attacked. Perhaps, something in it will speak to the heart of your experience.

When others put you down

Call you names

Say you’re stupid

Make you feel ashamed

Tell you you’ll always be a failure

You’ll never amount to anything

That’s when you need to look inside

yourself and see the truth of who you are

The truth of who you are

 

You are beautiful

You are a gift to others

You have a smile many would love to see

 

You’re not the lies you’ve been told

You have so much to give

 

When people say mean things to you without thinking

don’t believe anything they say

See the truth that you are beautiful

There is no ugly person on this earth

We are all of great worth

 

There is no one like you

The beauty of this world is we’re all different

We all have unique gifts to share

 

If I could give you one gift it would be this

You would see the truth of the wonderful person you are

In this ever-darkening world, we all have the gift of our love to share

 

If you can’t walk your spirit can run

If you can’t see your spirit can

If you can’t talk your spirit can speak for you

If you can’t hear your heart can

If you can’t think as fast as others it doesn’t mean you don’t have

a beautiful mind

That you can’t reach for your dreams

 

 

If you think your dreams will never be

that’s when you need to believe in who you are

That there’s a plan for your life only you can fulfill

 

Why is it that I know all these things?

It’s because I’ve been laughed at

I’ve been called names

Many said I would always be a failure

When I’m a young boy my father is teaching me how to fix a TV

at a TV and stereo repair store, where he works

I break a part

He shouts at me with rage, “Get your coat! I’m taking you home!

I wish you had never been born!”

 

My father said my brother would be smarter than I would ever be

I’d never amount to anything

I worked hard to prove him wrong

Stayed up late often after 2 a.m.

studying to get good marks

Didn’t know until age 38 I am struggling with B12 deficiency

It causes my mind to not be as sharp as it could be

I fight against fatigue every day

I combine work, study and volunteer work

It begins to affect my health

Drives me into asking too much of myself

I would show my father I’m not a failure or I’d die trying

 

My father is sick with schizophrenia

His heart is full of the lies he had been told about himself

 

I know many of the things he said he didn’t mean

I know he loved me

I’m sad he didn’t see the truth of how beautiful he was

How intelligent he was

That in my eyes he never was a failure

 

This I pray you’ll always know in your heart

How beautiful you are

How beautiful you are

Karen and I are assembling pieces for the following future books: Prayers from the Garden, Poems from the Garden and Reflections from Dreaming Together for a Better World. I am also writing song lyrics for a CD entitled Hymns from the Garden. A large percentage of proceeds will go towards poverty alleviation as well as local and international missions. We welcome any assistance with this from interested individuals, literary agents and publishers. Please join with us in prayer that God’s Kingdom work would be completed as I deal with the daily challenges of an extremely rare auto immune condition called mastocytosis. I can be reached via email at osborne2029@gmail.com

Kevin Osborne is training to become a psychotherapist, priest,chaplain and professor through St. James University in Jacksonville, Florida. He and his wife, Karen, plan to open a counselling practice. Karen is taking graduate divinity studies at Trinity College in the University of Toronto. Kevin is planning on taking additional graduate studies there. He is a member of The Word Guild, a Christian writer’s group in Canada.

Our greatest calling is to be servants of our Lord wherever He calls us to go.

https://marmarthunder.wordpress.com/

Leave a Reply

