My experiences as a member of The Word Guild

logo for The Word Guild

Image from thewordguild.com

I have been a member of The Word Guild for about two years. I have grown both as a writer and a man of God through being in this beautiful fratenity of faith. In their ReVision critique group I have been given valuable constructive criticism that has made me a much better writer. I have been told by many members what they like about my writing. Many members have said that I should write a book about the time I was abused as a child and into my adulthood by my schizophrenic father. One  member shared that books like this written by a male who was abused are rare. Many men don’t want to say anything about their abuse because of the prevalent stereotype that males need to be strong.

The greatest blessing of being a member of The Word Guild is that so many prayers are lifted up for you through other members and the prayer team. Whatever is going on in your life they are there with their love and support.

Unlike many writing groups The Word Guild accepts members from all around the world.

I am working with Steve Fortosis on the writing of my life story. He is one of my connections on Linkedin. Do you need an editor for your book, story, magazine article or document? I highly recommend Steve to you. He gave me a step by step guide on writing a 30 page chronology of life events, which will form the outline for my life story. It is a powerful testimony of how one can overcome abuse, illness and poverty to be a healer of wounded lives.

Is God calling you to be a writer? Do you feel that your writing is too awful that it would never be published? Do you need a group of people who will encourage and guide you? Prayerfully consider becoming a member of The Word Guild. You can become a member even if you haven’t been published.

Take a leap of faith as I did. Who knows? You too may become a published author sharing writing that causes positive change in people’s lives, makes them laugh or uplifts their spirits.

Have a joy-filled summer!

Here is the link for the web site for The Word Guild.

https://thewordguild.com/

Kevin Osborne, B.A.,M.A. in Clinical Christian Counseling St. James the Elder Theological Seminary, BTh. Canada Christian College & Graduate School,  postgraduate student Applied Theology with a major in Clinical Christian Counseling St. James the Elder Theological Seminary, D.D., D Sc., Diplomate in Traumatology American Board of Traumatology Examiners, St. James the Elder Theological Seminary, Diplomate in Creative Ministry St. James the Elder Theological Seminary, is a certified Christian counselor. He is a member of The Word Guild, a Christian writer’s group.

https://marmarthunder.wordpress.com/

2 responses to “My experiences as a member of The Word Guild

    • David, thanks for the thoughtful comment. Yes, writers and potential writers do need encouragement. You have done this for me through what you have taken time to share.

Leave a Reply

