Help me stand for You Alone – A social justice song

How dis war on poverty become war on the poor

Dear reader: Please pray that this song will reach many hearts. You have a voice. Let it be heard. Let us work together to bring people out of their poverty to realistic hope.

Lord, as I walk with You each day
Seeing darkness all around
Help me see the light of Your love
In every life You bring to me

Chorus:

Help me stand for You alone in the suffering that I see
Lives ground down and losing hope
Needing Your love in my heart to see

Millions, cold, hungry all alone
People dying on the winter streets
No place to lay their head
Shelters filled to capacity

Chorus:

Help me stand for You alone in the suffering that I see
Lives ground down and losing hope
Needing Your love in my heart to see

Problems are many, solutions few
Of this growing poverty
Lord, we need Your wisdom to see
Ideas to free people from their poverty

Chorus:

Help me stand for You alone in the suffering that I see
Lives ground down and losing hope
Needing Your love in my heart to see

People needing medications to get well
Denied coverage -given excuse upon excuse
When will they no longer hear no?
When will they be given back their dignity?

As I work for You each day
Let me stand for You alone
To fight for the oppressed
People strangled by their poverty

Chorus:

Help me stand for You alone in the suffering that I see
Lives ground down and losing hope
Needing Your love in my heart to see

Repeat chorus twice

Lyrics: Kevin Osborne

Dr. (Hons.) Kevin Osborne,B.Th. with honours, D.D. D.Sc., Diplomate Honors in Creative Ministry is a Certified Christian Counsellor training to be a Christian psychotherapist with St. James the Elder Theological Seminary. He is a member of The Word Guild, a Christian writer’s group in Canada.

http://marmarthunder.wordpress.com/

Leave a Reply

