I thank God for my marriage – An open letter to my beautiful wife, Karen

marriage-verse Song of Songs 5 16

Dear reader: I am writing this as a gift to Karen and marriages. Guys, I pray in the sharing of this letter you will be inspired to do something special for your wife. You don’t need to spend a lot of money or any money at all to show your wife how much you love her. Think of those things that speak to your wife’s love language. These are the acts of love that you have learned that your wife responds to most.  Do that one thing that makes your wife feel valued. Your marriage will reap rich blessings that will also enhance those extra curricular activities that have you saying, “I love my wife!”

My sweet butterfly,

You are such a beautiful woman inside and out! How did I get so blessed to have you in my life?

You have been with me through so much with your love and prayerful support. You encourage me when I need to be uplifted. You challenge me to be the best I can be for God.

When I am in my wheelchair you take time to give me a loving embrace that enfolds me in your tender love. I feel so deeply loved and valued when you do that. When my legs shake and one of them or both of them are ready to dump me, you come along and give me a hug and kiss. You tell me you are seizing the opportunity with great delight to say how much you love me.

When I cry about how awful the journey has been battling systemic mastocytosis, a rare auto immune condition in which I have an immune system that is hyper-reactive, you tell me how God is using my condition to reach out to others in their time of suffering. You tell me it has made me more sensitive to the pain others go through.

You have been with me through eight intubations when many times you prayed that I would be alive in the morning. I will never forget the times you would lay a pillow at the bottom of my bed and sleep there, tears soaking the pillow with your liquid prayers. Thank you for being there when I needed you so much!

There have been many who have said you should get rid of me because of my challenges. Only God can change their hearts. They say I am weak and a burden to you. You tell them that I am stronger than they think. You show by staying with me that true love is in sickness and in health.

We need to thank God every day for the blessing of those who stand with us through all we are going through. They continue to be Christ’s extended arms of mercy. Thank you, dear friends, for being there with your love and practical support. The meals, games and laughter we share together brings shining rays of God’s love into our lives.

For over twelve years you have stood with me advocating for the medical and vocational supports I need. God bless you richly for your faithfulness to that call. Together we have won some battles and lost many. Yet, you have never given up where many would have. Let us pray that all people get that strong and caring hand up that leads to hope for a brighter future. Not everything should be about the bottom line. Some things in life should be about how we show we care for others.

Let us be thankful for the allopathic and naturopathic doctors who have been there in our corner fighting along with us for the help I need to heal. God bless them all for answering the call to serve with an unswerving commitment to their patients. We need to continue to pray that God will open up a door for me to speak at medical schools about how my journey could help in the education of doctors and nurses. I am thankful to God that because of me having pernicious anemia (B12 deficiency) that other patients at the Canadian College of Naturopathic Medicine in Toronto had their pernicious anemia diagnosed early into progression.

Thanks for encouraging me that God is going to continue to do amazing things through my writing for Him. Being a writer yourself, you appreciate that we often wonder if our writing is making any lasting impact upon people’s lives. Our calling is simply to be faithful to what God has called us to share.

When I read the comments from people’s lives God is using me to touch, I am so uplifted.  My dear readers, thanks for the prayer and time you put into making your comments. It means a lot that you take time out of your busy schedule to share how you have been blessed, inspired, encouraged and challenged through my writing.

Karen, I  can never thank you enough for the thousands of hours of time you have allowed me to do the Kingdom work God has called me to do. You have always supported me when what I am doing is for my Lord. True love makes sacrifices. You understand that. I pray I am as understanding of the Kingdom work God has called you to do.

I enjoy those times God gives us out of our busy schedules to be with each other. They are so precious. Whether we do devotions, watch a movie, listen to music, talk about the call God has put upon our hearts to reach out to suffering souls or share in the joy of laughter, these are times I count as being our sanctuary, our private time alone with God.

I feel so safe around you to be me. You laugh uproariously when I do my Swedish chef impression from the Muppet  Show. “Today, we are going to make a Christmas turkey dinner. Okay, I start with de turkey. I place de turkey in this big pot. Excuse me. I  need to talk with de turkey.”Turkey, you need to get in de pot. Te horsch chen borken borch borch, get in de pot!” The turkey responds. “I’m on strike. I’ve been on this show five years without a raise. We are also demanding better treatment by the management of this show. We’re tired of being made fun of. How would you like it if you were a turkey and told, “Your act was really foul or Boy, did you ever lay a turkey with that performance!”

The Swedish chef wipes his forehead in exasperation. “Turkey, I only have a few minutes for this spot in the show. Turkey, I’m warning you. Get in de pot now or I’ll shoot you!” The turkey does not budge. The Swedish chef takes out his rifle and shoots at the turkey. Turkey feathers are flying everywhere. The curtain closes as the Swedish chef keeps chasing after the turkey.

Darling, I hope this skit I put in this letter gave you a really good laugh. Laughter truly is a gift from God. It gives us a different focus when life and its struggles and challenges become overwhelming. People need to laugh more. There is so much bad news in this world. We all need to take a break from listening to and watching it.

Keep praying that God will open a door for the songs I write and sing to be a blessing to many. We need to trust that in God’s time He will make His will known concerning this.

Thank you, Lord, for bringing Karen into my life. Thank you for this intelligent, beautiful, creative, funny, articulate woman You have given me. She’s the first person to say she’s not perfect, nor am I. We both are taking that daily walk with You as we struggle with our humanity. Lord, with all of our imperfections we are perfect for each other. Continue to grow the bonds of love between us. Amen.

Love of my life next to God, I am a richer and better man for having you in my life.

Thanks for loving me just as I am.

Kevin

Dr. (Hons.) Kevin Osborne,B.Th. with honours, D.D. D.Sc., Diplomate Honors in Creative Ministry is a Certified Christian Counsellor training to be a Christian psychotherapist with St. James the Elder Theological Seminary. He is a member of The Word Guild, a Christian writer’s group in Canada.

http://marmarthunder.wordpress.com/

2 responses to “I thank God for my marriage – An open letter to my beautiful wife, Karen

  1. So touching, Kevin.

    There are many things that time do not tell people eternity will reward them for.

    May we understand our callings and attend to them wholeheartedly.

    I believe Karen fits the mode of those who do not know but wholeheartedly attend to what eternity will reward them for.

    More grace to her amazing heart and more strength to you.

    I believe that while God has used the condition to provide you with opportunities and lessons, I believe there is room for much more.

    God can heal your condition. He can raise a wall of strength out of the heaps of illness rubbles. Christ took your infirmities and bite bore your pains. By His stripes you were healed. He can bring you out of the condition to furnish you with greater opportunities to serve His kingdom and humanity.

    God bless you and Karen.

  2. So touching, Kevin.

    There are many things that time do not tell people eternity will reward them for.

    May we understand our callings and attend to them wholeheartedly.

    I believe Karen fits the mode of those who do not know but wholeheartedly attend to what eternity will reward them for.

    More grace to her amazing heart and more strength to you.

    I believe that while God has used the condition to provide you with opportunities and lessons, I believe there is room for much more.

    God can heal your condition. He raise a wall of strength of of the heaps of illness rubbles.

    Christ took your infirmities and bite your pains. He can make the best out of the condition to furnish you with greater opportunities to serve His kingdom and humanity.

    God bless you and Karen.

Leave a Reply

