How do you change the world?

Evan Almighty - Movie Wallpaper - 04

God: Let me ask you something. If someone prays for patience, you think God gives them patience? Or does he give them the opportunity to be patient? If he prayed for courage, does God give him courage, or does he give him opportunities to be courageous? If someone prayed for the family to be closer, do you think God zaps them with warm fuzzy feelings, or does he give them opportunities to love each other?

God: How do we change the world?
Evan Baxter: One single act of random kindness at a time.

God: [spoken while writing A-R-K on ground with a stick] One Act, of, Random, Kindness

Evan Baxter,  a TV news anchor elected congressman, will go through a journey of being rejected and scorned in discovering this truth. We change the world through one random act of kindness at a time.

God tells Evan to build an ark for the coming flood. As Evan sees the truth that he is being used as a political pawn for a more powerful congressman’s hidden agenda, his physical appearance also changes. He eventually looks like Noah.

While he is building the ark he is laughed at and ridiculed just as Noah was. He even nearly loses his marriage and career. I have put lines from the dialogue to illustrate the similar scorn from his wife and others Noah must have experienced.

I’m gonna take them to my mother’s.
Evan, I think you need help.

Joan, please. I’m not doing this.
It’s not me. It’s him.

I went to that meeting in a suit,
and he took it off of me.

Those animals are following me
because of him.

God? Does God know
he’s destroying our lives?

Does God know he’s going to get you fired?

Yeah! He’s trying to get me fired!

He is trying to get me fired!

That way I’ll have more time
to work on the ark!

Because the rain and the floods are coming.

No, I heard you, Evan.
The whole world heard you.

Joan, please, you gotta believe me.

(DRIZZLING)

There it is! It’s happening!
It’s happening! It’s raining!

Goodbye, Evan.

(ENGINE STARTING)

Joan!

I know! I know. Whatever you do,
you do because you love me!

Do me a favor. Love me less.

We change the world by accepting that our Lord will put us through the fire of adversity as a demonstration of His love. He does this because He loves us. He allowed Evan Baxter to be willing to risk his marriage and career to teach Evan that life is not about the acquisition of things and power; it is about those random acts of kindness we can do for one another; it is about our willingness to change ourselves, so we can be instruments of change in the lives of others.

This week think of those random acts of kindness you can do. I have listed ten of them to fuel your own ideas.

1) Visit a sick person in their home or in the hospital

2) Make up some meals for someone too sick to cook

3)Pick up groceries for a person who is too ill to get out and get their own

4)Pay someone’s bill for their meal. Just say, “It’s my act of random kindness.”

5)Offer your skill to someone who can use that skill say in editing their resume and cover letter or in baby sitting children to give someone you know a break

6)Call that person who has been on your mind

7)Send a care package to a missionary overseas

8)Sponsor a child who lives in hunger

9)Volunteer for a charity group, food bank or to be a member on the Board of Directors for a non-profit organization

10)Surprise someone by writing that individual a letter instead of sending an email.

Now, the Lord would have a word with me if I neglected to mention that when doing these acts of random kindness, it is required to do the God dance. To know how to do it, you’ll have to watch the movie:)

In those acts of love you build our own A-R-K of hope for your community and your world.

http://marmarthunder.wordpress.com/2014/03/24/how-can-you-change-the-world/

https://www.facebook.com/dreamingtogetherforabetterworld

Leave a Reply

