Lord, make us an instrument of Your peace

The prayer of St. Francis of Assisi sung by the Phillipine Madrigal Singers lifts my heart to a God of peace, love and joy. It is done with sign language and light background music. The spiritual message of this prayer is that God can use us in all the circumstances of people’s lives as an instrument of His peace. It is not the fleeting and hollow peace offered by new age philosophy. This peace is more enduring, connects us with more of the life of the spirit.

The Lord spoke to my heart that this particular rendition was to be shared as a blessing of God’s love to the Filipino people, and all who seek the life of the spirit.

Please pray for me as I battle a sinus infection and respiratory bug going into its third month. Sometimes, the Lord slows us down because that’s the only way He can get through to us, really speak to our hearts.

Out of this protracted illness has come a deeper spiritual call to lead a more contemplative life of the spirit. My Lord is closing so many doors. Yet, the ones He is opening are leading me to a call to be a spiritual director in the lives of others. It is quite often that those who have the greatest need for inner healing are called to use lessons learned in that experience in the lives of helping others.

Please pray for my wife, Karen, and I, as we take each step with our Lord. We will need your prayers and your outstretched arms of love, as we prepare to undertake a calling to enter Master of Divinity training at Trinity College in the University of Toronto, starting this January.

Please pray that if it is the Lord’s will that the Lord will open doors for the finances to be a visiting missionary wherever we are called to go in His time.

I have included the words of this prayer for your reflection.

The peace of the Lord be with you.

Kevin

Lord, make me an instrument of thy Peace 

Lord, make me an instrument of thy Peace.
Where there is hatred, let me sow Love.
Where there is injury, thy Pardon, Lord.
Where there is doubt, let there be Faith.

Oh Lord, make me an instrument of thy Peace.
Where there is despair, let me bring Hope.
Where there is darkness, let there be Light.
Where there is sadness, let there be Joy.

O Divine Master, grant that I may not so much seek:
To be consoled, as to console,
To be understood, as to understand,
To be loved, as to love.

Lord, make me an instrument of thy Peace.
Where there is hatred, let me sow Love.
For it is in giving that we receive,
It is in pardoning that we are pardoned.

And it’s in dying that we are born 
To eternal life, to eternal life.
Lord, make me an instrument of thy Peace.
An instrument of thy Peace. Amen

http://www.marmarthunder.wordpress.com

Leave a Reply

